2016: Done and Dusted!

I haven’t been writing a lot, I spend most of my days watching Law & Order while browsing through Tumblr. I know it’s the second week of 2017 but I still want to blog about the things that happened to me in 2016.

Miss to Mrs
I got married on March 17th to a man usually found in either black or white t-shirt. It was the happiest day of my life and I still can’t believe that I DIY-ed a lot of my wedding stuff because I was a pinterest bride. I still don’t recommend doing things on your own, unless if you have a lot of time. Married life has been really good, everyday is a learning process. We still struggle but hey, no one said things are going to be easy after you get married.

Lost Tok Wan and Kak Mek
I lost my grandfather and mum’s bestfriend within two weeks. It’s not something I really talk with people. Not because I don’t remember them.. I still can’t talk about them without tearing up. Tok Wan’s room still smells like him and I can still see Kak Mek sitting in our kitchen. I miss both of them, so much.

New Hobby
I have developed an unhealthy habit of buying make up, without having any knowledge on how to use them. A year ago, I never thought I would buy make up every week.. I never even thought I would be highlighting my face just because I want to shine brighter than my future. I started watching Kathleen Lights around mid of last year and haven’t stopped since. I love how good makeup makes me feel. My husband is not to keen with my new hobby but whatever makes me happy. ;p

Completely Stopped Running
I got lazy but I should start running again this year. (I don’t have explanation for this because.. I was seriously lazy.

Traveled Just For a Concert
One of the reasons I decided to marry early. Kidding! But not really, my husband and I are concert-goers and when Foals announced their last tour for What Went Down in Singapore, we decided to wing it and bought our tickets, even tho our financials were not that good (priorities ;p) but it was worth it. We stayed in Pod Boutique Hostel, got stuck in the rain, totally smashed my favorite pair of Vans but it was worth it.

Honeymoon without Itinerary
Probably one of the best decision we’ve ever made together. We wanted a chill honeymoon and we got it. We went to Bali without having any plans, we only bought our flight tickets and booked our villa but it was really fun. I’d really love to go there again and explore all the places that we missed on our first trip.

Work
I got really depressed with work around middle of last year. I felt stagnant while everyone was moving on, doing new things. I spoke to my manager but he didn’t think I was serious. I started applying jobs elsewhere and got one. I was contemplating on leaving when my project manager decided to give me a new role. I love what I do now, I get to coordinate meetings, learn new technologies and meet customers!

Friends
One thing that I can say about 2016 is… it really tested some of my friendships but I’m grateful for those who are still around.

This year, I decided not to have any resolutions because I suck at them but I promise I would write more. At least, twice a week. Kot.

Leave a Reply

